Dropbox is one of the popular cloud storage services available. However, Dropbox doesn’t offer that much storage space for its users. Free users only have 2 GB of storage, and you’ll have to upgrade if you need more. If you are running out of space on your Dropbox account, you might want to delete some files.
How to permanently delete files from Dropbox using Web-browser
You will need to perform this procedure using a web browser as you cannot permanently delete files from the Dropbox app on both the desktop and mobile (Android or iOS)
Steps to delete a file from Dropbox
- Visit dropbox.com and log in to your account if you haven’t.
- Select Files from the left menu pane.
- Find the file you want to delete and click on the three-dot icon at the far right.
- A dropdown menu appears, select Delete.
- A confirmation window will appear, choose Delete.
Note: When you delete files on Dropbox, it moves to the Deleted Files folder. It will stay there for 30 days for you to recover. Once the period is over, it will permanently delete all your deleted files. You can also manually permanently delete the files by following the steps below.
Steps to delete multiple files from Dropbox
- Hover your mouse over any file you want to delete, and mark the checkbox.
- Mark the checkbox of other files you want to remove.
- Click on the three-dot icon on the right menu pane.
- A dropdown menu will appear, select Delete.
- Again select Delete in the confirmation prompt.
Steps to permanently delete files from Dropbox
Once you delete files from your Dropbox account, follow these steps to remove them permanently:
- Go to your Deleted files folder from the left pane.
- Click on the checkboxes of the files you want to remove permanently.
- Click on the Permanently delete option at the right pane below the Restore button.
- A confirmation popup appears, select Permanently delete.
How to remove files from Dropbox on Android or iOS
- Launch the Dropbox app on your iPhone/iPad or Android device.
- Tap and hold on any file you want to delete. Select other files you want to remove.
- Tap on the three-dot icon at the top right corner of your screen.
- In the dropdown menu, select Delete.
- A confirmation prompt appears, tap Delete.
All the deleted files will be permanently deleted within the 30 days of deletion. If you want to manually permanently remove the files, you will have to visit dropbox.com and follow the steps as mentioned above.