Strava is a fantastic social media and fitness tracking app best for runners and cyclists. However, if you don’t want to use Strava anymore for whatever reason, you might want to delete your account. Here, we will guide you through the steps to close your Strava account.
Note: Deleting a Strava account is permanent and cannot be recovered once done.
How to permanently delete your Strava account
- Visit strava.com and log in to your account.
- Hover over your profile at the top right corner and select Settings.
- Select My Account on the left pane.
- Scroll down and click on the Get Started button under Download or Delete Your Account.
- Scroll down to the bottom and mark the I downloaded or don’t want to download my data checkbox.
- Click on Request Account Deletion. Now, you will receive a confirmation email from Strava.
- Open the confirmation email and click on Delete Your Account.
- Click on Delete your account to confirm.
Want to delete your Fitbit account? Check out our article, here.
What happens when you close your Strava Account
- All your personal data and information will be deleted.
- Your personal Segments and Routes will be deleted.
- Any public Segments and Routes created by you will remain on Strava. If you want to erase a public Segment or Route, you have to delete it before closing your account.
- Any post and your name will be deleted from Strava Clubs.
- Clubs created by you will remain unchanged.