How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network 

By | Last Updated on August 3, 2020

Everyone in the world wants to get connected to the internet through Wi-Fi. However, if you want to forget a Wi-Fi network on your device, here’s what you should do on your Android, Windows, and Mac device. 

How to remove Wi-fi from your device
WiFi

How To Forget a Wi-Fi Network on Android

  1. Open the Settings app on your Android phone.
    Open Settings app
  2. Select Wireless & networks and tap on Wi-Fi.  If you didn’t find Wireless & networks option, directly go to Wi-Fi.
    tap on Wi-Fi
  3. Turn on your Wi-Fi if you haven’t already.
  4. Now, tap and hold on the connected network.
    Tap on the connected wifi network
  5. A popup window will appear, choose Forget network.
    choose Forget network

If you are not connected to the network:

  1. Go to your Wi-Fi settings. Depending on your device, it may also be stated as Additional Settings.
    tap on Wi-Fi settings
  2. Tap on Saved networks option.
    tap on saved networks
  3. Tap on the network name you want to forget and select Forget.
    tap on Forget

How To Forget a Wi-Fi Network on Windows 10

  1. Open Windows Settings on your Windows PC.
    Open Windows settings
  2. On the settings page, select Network & Internet.
    select Network & Internet
  3. Select Wi-Fi from the left pane.
    click on Wi-Fi
  4. Now, click on Manage known networks.
    click on Manage known networks
  5. Click on the network name you wish to forget.
    Click on the network name
  6. In the dropdown menu, select Forget.
    select Forget

How To Forget a Wi-Fi Network on Mac

  1. Click on the Wi-Fi icon at the upper right corner of your screen. 
  2. Select Open Network Preferences… and click on Advanced…
  3. Click on the Wi-Fi network you want to forget. To select multiple network at once, hold the Command key and select the Wi-Fi networks.
  4. Now, click on the minus (-) icon. 
  5. Click on OK and Apply.

How to Forget a Wi-Fi Network on your iPhone/iPad

Note: To forget a Wi-Fi network it has to be in range. 

  1. Open the Settings app on your device. 
  2. Select Wi-Fi. 
  3. Tap on the info button of the network you’d like to forget. 
  4. Now, tap on Forget This Network. 
  5. A prompt will appear, select Forget. 

How To Pause Auto-Join Feature on your iPhone/iPad

iPhone & iPad have the feature to connect to a saved Wi-Fi network on range automatically. However, it can get a bit annoying when you have multiple access points and don’t want to join a network by default.

  1. Open the Settings app and tap on Wi-Fi. 
  2. Tap on the info button beside the Wi-Fi network; you don’t want to connect automatically. 
  3. Toggle off the Auto-Join option. 

Leave a Comment