Etsy is a company based in the U.S. that sells handmade or vintage items, craft supplies, and other things. It is possible to get jewelry, bags, clothes, home decor and furniture, toys, art, craft supplies and tools. Everything that is considered vintage must be at least 20 years old.
If you are a member of Etsy, you have the option to close and delete your account permanently. When you permanently delete your Etsy account, you cannot do anything to it after the process.
If you do not want to have your account permanently closed and deleted, you may consider the following:
- Closing your account: Your account becomes inactive, and you can choose to reopen it.
- Closing your shop: You can close your Etsy shop and keep all your customers on Etsy. If you choose to close your shop, you can do that instead of closing your entire account. You are allowed to reopen your shop at any time.
How do I delete my Etsy account permanently?
Before you permanently delete your Etsy account, make sure that:
- There is no amount that is due on your payment account.
- You have done every order that you need to finish.
- You have resolved all the cases that you have been accused of.
- You have stored any of the information that you need for tax and record keeping purposes.
- You do not use the email address of that account in another Etsy account.
- All the cases that you open will be resolved.
- You have no other cases that you are in, because after you close your account, you won’t have access to their case system.
- You must have all the information that you need to keep for your records.
Closing and delete all of your Etsy accounts permanently:
- On Etsy.com, click on You.
- Click on Account Settings.
- Click on Privacy.
- Click on Request deletion of your personal data. Then permanently close and delete your Etsy account.
- There will be an email with instructions on how to complete your deletion request.
You must make this request for security and verification purposes while you are logged in to the Etsy account that you would like to close and delete.
The permanent deletion process will begin once all the open issues, including overdue payments, unfulfilled orders, or unresolved cases, are resolved. It is possible that this may take between two weeks. In some cases, depending on the service that you use on Etsy, or if you violate their rules, they may be required to retain certain personal information for legal, regulatory, tax, security, or compliance reasons for a limited period of time. Then, it will be deleted.
The file account deleted is permanent, and you cannot get it back.