Facebook is a social media site that allows you to connect with friends and family. You can keep in touch with your loved ones, share photos, videos, comments and news articles from around the world.
You may have made Facebook a central part of your life; however, as time goes on you may want to delete some of the things you’ve posted on Facebook because they no longer mean anything to you. For example, if it was something embarrassing or hurtful to others that you’d rather not have online forever.
For instance, when people get older they start thinking about their past actions and post things they wish they hadn’t shared publicly. When this happens, more often than not people don’t take the time to actually delete all those posts. They end up being stored online for years until someone decides to actually go through their old stuff one day and find them.
Maybe you’re not one of these people, and there’s some of your private information on your Facebook profile that you’d like to remove. In this article, we’ll let you know how to delete your birthday information from Facebook.
What Does Deleting Your Birthday From Facebook Mean?
When you delete your birthday from Facebook, it will remove all of the posts, notifications, and other things related to information about your birthdate on Facebook. So, whenever you have your birthday, people will no longer get notifications for it
How to Delete Your Birthday From Facebook?
Regardless of whether you are working on a desktop or mobile device, the process will be the more or less the same.
First, you must log into your Facebook account. That will redirect you to your news feed. From there, you should take these steps:
- Click on your name at the top of the page to get to know more about you.
- On your profile page, click on the About button, which is underneath your cover photo.
- When you view the overview of the About section, click on Contact and Basic Info.
- Scroll down to the part that is most basic and click on the pencil icon next to the date of birth.
- After clicking on the pencil icon, select the Privacy icon. After you click on this, you will see the privacy menu, where you can choose who can view your birthday and who will receive notifications about it. If you want to hide it completely, select the Only Me option.
- Do not forget to change the privacy settings for your birth year, too.
- When you are done, click on Save.
By doing the steps we have detailed above, you should be able to effectively make the date of your birthday visible to only certain people of your choice. No one will receive any notification that your birthday is approaching, and no one will be able to see it unless you let them.