Delete Pinterest Account

Do you want to delete a Pinterest account because you are fed up with those pins or have multiple accounts and want to terminate one of them? Whatever be the reason, you can deactivate a Pinterest account permanently or temporarily.

Things to consider before deleting a Pinterest account

  1. All data associated with your account will be lost.
  2. You won’t be able to view the images that you have pinned. All your pins will not be restored even if you create a new account with the same username.
  3. The URL of your account will be free for others. You might not be able to get it back later on; in case you want to return back to Pinterest.

Still want to terminate the account? Follow the process below.

How to Delete Pinterest Account Permanently?

  1. Go to Pinterest.com from your mobile or PC browser.
  2. Log in with the account, which you want to delete.
    Pinterest login
  3. Click on the menu icon (…) that lies towards the top right corner of the page.
    Pinterest profile settings
  4. Select ‘Edit Settings’ from the drop-down menu.
    Pinterest edit settings to delete account
  5. Scroll down to the bottom of the ‘Account settings’ and then click on Close Account.
    Pinterest close account
  6. A sub-window will pop up. Choose the reason you want to delete your account and click Next.
    Pinterest account deletion reason
  7. To receive Pinterest account close verification email, Click on “Send email”.
    Pinterest send email confirmation for closing account
  8. Go to your email inbox and Open the email from Pinterest; go to the end of the email and click on “Yes, close account” to confirm the closure of your Pinterest account permanently.
    Pinterest email confirmation for deletion

This procedure is applicable to personal profiles only. To delete a Business profile, you have to contact Pinterest admin and request them to delete the account permanently.

It will take 14 days to permanently delete entire information of the account, your account remains deactivated for that period.

In case you change your mind and want to return back then all you have to do is log in with the old username and password. Pinterest will send you a reactivation link and your account will be activated.

Deactivate Pinterest Account temporarily

If permanent deletion is not what you are looking for and all you want is to take a temporary break from Pinterest, then we recommend you deactivate the account. Deactivating the account will keep all your data safe while keeping your profile invisible from public.

  1. Log in to Pinterest account from a web-browser.
  2. Click on the menu icon (…) on the top right corner.
  3. Select “Edit Settings” from the drop-down menu.
  4. Under the heading “Account Profile” click on “Deactivate Account”.
    Pinterest deactivate account
  5. A sub-window will pop up. Pinterest will show you consequences of deactivating your Pinterest account, Click Next.
    Pinterest deactivate account confirmation
  6. In the deactivation page select the reason why you want to leave Pinterest account and then click on “Deactivate account”.
    Pinterest deactivate reasons

All your account information and data will remain hidden when your account remains deactivated. Your account gets activated whenever you log in again.

Deactivate Pinterest profile of a deceased person

There is an option to deactivate the profile of the deceased person. For this you must write an email to care@pinterest.com. The email should contain the following information:

  1. Your full name.
  2. Full name of the deceased person.
  3. A URL to the deceased person account. It shall be in the format as http://pinterest.com/username
  4. Document verifying your relationship with the deceased person so as to verify that you are authorized to close his/her account.
  5. Document verifying your relationship with the deceased person so as to verify that you are authorized to close his/her account.

 

2 thoughts on “Delete Pinterest Account”

    • Hello Shivang Singh,
      To delete a business Pinterest account,

      • Go to the Pinterest contact page.
      • Click on Account access and closure.
      • Select the option Deactivate or close account. And hit Continue at the bottom.
      • Follow the on screen direction, and you’ll be able to delete Pinterest Business account.

Leave a Comment