Delete Facebook message

There is a time in everyone’s life where you wish you should not have sent the message to someone and you feel anxious every time you see the message in your inbox. Thankfully Facebook allows you to delete facebook messages for yourself at least.

Recently Facebook, Messenger has introduced a feature of deleting messages from the receiver’s device as well. It was the breath of relief for numerous messenger user. However, some user got disappointed when it was revealed that you could delete the message for everyone only within 10 minutes of sending the message.

In this article, we will discuss the steps to delete messages in Facebook messages using mobile application and Desktop.

Delete Facebook Messages using Mobile Application

  • Open Messenger application on your smartphone.
  • Tap on the sender’s image whose message you want to delete.
    Facebook message sender image
  • Find the message you want to delete and then tap & hold the message.
  • You will see message options at the bottom of the screen — tap on “Bin” icon.
    Facebook message remove bin
  • Now “Remove for you” and “Remove for everyone” will appear. Remove for everyone will appear only if 10 minutes have not passed since you have sent the message.
  • Tap on “Remove for you” option if you want to delete the message from your device only. If you don’t want the message to be displayed on receiver’s end as well then tap on “Remove for everyone.” However, keep in mind that, 10 minutes should not have passed after you sent the message to be able to delete the message from the receiver’s.
    Facebook message remove option
  • A confirmation message will pop up on your screen. Tap on “Remove” to get rid of the message permanently.
    Facebook message delete confirmation

Delete Facebook Message using Desktop/Laptop.

  • Open facebook.com on any web browser you prefer and log in if you are not already logged in.
  • Click on message icon towards the top right corner of the page just before the notification icon.
  • A drop-down list will appear displaying the recent conversation you have had. Click on the conversation from where you want to delete a specific.
    Facebook messenger conversation to delete
  • The conversation you have selected will be displayed in a pop-up message box at the bottom of the screen.
  • Find the message that you want to delete and then click on the menu icon (…). Now click on Remove.
    Facebook message remove
  • A sub-window will pop up requiring you to confirm that you choose to get rid of the message permanently. Choose from option to “Remove for Everyone” or “Remove for You”. Finally, click on “Remove” and you will get rid of the message permanently.
    Facebook message remove option

Delete entire conversation

If you intend to delete the entire conversation instead of the individual message, then follow these steps:

Using Desktop

  • Open Facebook.com in any web browser. Log in using the username and password of the account from where you want to delete the conversation.
  • Click on the message icon towards the top right corner of the page just before the notification icon and open the conversation that you want to delete.
    Facebook message removal
  • Once you open the conversation in a message box that appears at the bottom of the screen; click on the “Option” (gear icon).
    Facebook message settings
  • A drop-down menu will appear. Scroll down to the end of the list and then click on “Delete Conversation.”
    Facebook delete entire conversation
  • Facebook will notify you that once you delete the conversation, it cannot be undone. Click on “Delete Conversation” to get rid of the conversation permanently.
    facebook entire conversation delete confirmation

Delete Facebook message from messenger

  • Open Facebook messenger.
  • Find the conversation that you want to delete.
  • Tap and hold the conversation.
  • You will see some options at the right of the conversations. From among the options tap on “Delete icon” (red bin icon).
    Facebook mobile delete entire conversation
  • A confirmation message will pop up. Tap on “Delete” and Facebook will delete the conversation permanently.
    Facebook mobile entire conversation delete confirmation

7 thoughts on “Delete Facebook message”

  1. I’ve sent you a message about my account with Facebook were not able to use it for John postcode to you today I’ve been expended I’m not got a y answer to what can I do about this can you give me Facebook telephone number for customer services so I can read and find out what’s going on

  2. Several times my friends have received a message that I do not know has been sent. They are complaining of a message received that’s compromised their Facebook. Someone has either hacked them or messed up Their messenger app. I will no longer choose to use this if it happens again.

  3. I have been hacked I found a huge amount of messenger profiles that are fake 4 were in my name w my info I found out that in my son’s name was a fake account also. These are so numerous how may I remove them from messenger

  4. I received a scam on Instagram under the name Kathryn Buffington Miller. I texted Kathy & she said she didn’t send. How I delete her & message?

Leave a Comment