How to Delete Facebook Account

By Abby •  Updated: 09/19/19 •  3 min read

How to close your Facebook account

Are you fed up with Facebook and want to close your Account? Don’t worry, we’ve got you covered. In this article, we will guide you to delete your Facebook account from both your desktop and mobile.

24/7 Live Chat
Ask a Technician To Help You Cancel or Delete Live

Chat with a Tech Support Specialist anytime, anywhere

How to Delete Facebook Account using Desktop

How to Close your Facebook account from mobile

How to Deactivate Facebook account

Do you want to take a break from Facebook? Disabling your Facebook account is the best solution. In this article, we will guide you to deactivate your Facebook account from both your smartphone and computer.

How to deactivate your Facebook account from the desktop?

  1. Visit facebook.com and sign in to your account.  
  2. Click on the dropdown icon at the top right corner and select Settings & privacy. 
  3. Now, select Settings. 
  4. Select Your Facebook Information from the left pane. 
  5. Click on Deactivation and Deletion. 
  6. Make sure the Deactivate account is selected and click on Continue to Account Deactivation. 
  7. Select a reason for deactivating your account. A popup will appear, close it. 
  8. Now, click on the Deactivate button. 
  9. A popup will appear, click on Deactivate Now to confirm. 

How to deactivate your Facebook account using mobile app?

  1. Open the Facebook app on your phone
  2. Tap on the menu icon at the top right corner. 
  3. Scroll down and tap on Settings & Privacy. 
  4. Tap on Settings. 
  5. Scroll down to the Your Facebook Information section and tap on Account Ownership and Control. 
  6. Select the Deactivation and Deletion option. 
  7. Ensure that Deactivate Account is selected and tap on Continue to Account Deactivation. 
  8. Choose a reason for deactivating your account and tap on Continue
  9. Scroll down to the bottom and tap on the Continue button. 
  10. Tap on Deactivate My Account at the bottom to confirm

What happens after I deactivate the Facebook account?

  1. Other people can’t see your profile. But your friends can still see your name in friend list.
  2. Your friends may still see your messages.
  3. Posts on groups may be visible to the Group admins.
  4. Even after deactivation, your messenger still remains active. You need to deactivate it separately.

 

(Visited 178 times, 1 visits today)

Abby