Deactivate Facebook account?

Why should you deactivate Facebook account?

  1. Addiction to online profile. You are wasting too much time on social media.
  2. To improve low self-esteem. Researchers find social media is directly related to low self-esteem.
  3. Your potential employer will check your profile before recruiting, so if you have questionable content on your wall, deactivate it temporarily.
  4.  If you are going through a break up then you should stay away from the FB for a while. It will give you time to heal and forget about him/her.
  5. To study for the exam, you don’t want a constant distraction from FB to break your concentration.
  6. To get yourself some break from online activities.

To get a break from Facebook for a short time, you need to deactivate your account.

How to Deactivate Facebook account?

You can deactivate your account from a desktop or mobile app.

How to deactivate the Facebook account from a desktop?

This method will deactivate your account but Messenger remains active. You need to deactivate it from the Messenger app for that.

  • Go to Facebook.com from your desktop browser and sign in with your account.
  • Click on the menu option, which is indicated by a triangle icon (). You will find it at the upper right corner of the page.
    settings to deactivate facebook account
  • Choose Settings from the drop-down menu.
    deactivate fb from web
  • Select the option Your Facebook Information from the left sidebar menu.
    facebook information option to deactivate facebook
  • Click the option Deactivation and Deletion.
    facebook deactivation option
  • By default, Deactivate Account is selected. Click on Continue to Account Deactivation.
    facebook deactivate or delete account
  • Enter your password to verify your deactivation process.
    verify password for facebook deactivate
  • Provide a reason for leaving. If you don’t want any email from Facebook, don’t forget to check the option “Opt out of receiving future emails from Facebook”
    reason for facebook deactivate
  • Click on Deactivate and your account is no longer active.
    facebook deactivate confirm

Deactivate Facebook account from the mobile app

  • Open the Facebook app from your mobile and tap on the menu ().
    mobile facebook deactivate
  • Tap on the option Settings & Privacy. The menu will expand, now tap on Settings.
    deactivate facebook mobile
  • Select Personal information on the Account settings page.
    deactivate facebook from mobile app
  • Tap Manage account option from the menu.
    manage account to deactivate fb account
  • Click the Deactivate option.
    mobile facebook deactivate option
  • Enter your password for security.
  • Give the reason for account deactivation and tap Deactivate My Account.
    deactivate account confirm

Now your Facebook account is deactivated. You can reactivate it anytime.

What happens after I deactivate the Facebook account?

  1. Other people can’t see your profile. But your friends can still see your name in friend list.
  2. Your friends may still see your messages.
  3. Posts on groups may be visible to the Group admins.
  4. Even after deactivation, your messenger still remains active. You need to deactivate it separately.

 

Leave a Comment