How To Delete Yelp Account?

By Abby •  Updated: 01/16/22 •  8 min read

This page is a comprehensive guide on how to delete a Yelp account. Yelp is one of the most popular and used websites for customer reviews and local business information. It is well known for providing useful information for users. However, there are times when users might need to delete their Yelp account. There are various reasons why users may want to delete their Yelp account. They can also make use of this guide to help them understand how to delete a Yelp account.

24/7 Live Chat
Ask a Technician To Help You Cancel or Delete Live

Chat with a Tech Support Specialist anytime, anywhere

What is Yelp?

Yelp is a social networking website that allows users to write reviews and comments about various businesses. The website is also known for its helpful tips on local businesses. Users can even make use of Yelp to find different businesses and book online appointments with them.

Yelp users are also allowed to make use of the Yelp app for their smartphones or tablets. It helps them access the Yelp reviews and business information on the go. Yelp has become one of the most popular ways for users to search for local businesses and make reservations at restaurants or other places. However, there are times when users might need to delete their Yelp account.

How does Yelp work?

The users can write reviews and comments about various businesses on Yelp. It encourages its users to leave written reviews, star ratings, and photos of their experience with each business they visit. This helps them to give a rating and feedback on the businesses they visit. The more reviews and comments that a business has, the higher its ratings will be.

What is Yelp’s Elite Squad?

Yelp Elite Squad is the recognition from Yelp for their active users. You can only become a Yelp Elite Squad member after you have left a comment or written a review on Yelp. You will be notified of your status as an Elite Squad member via email. There are Gold Elite Badges and Black Elite Badges that are given to users who have been at least 5 years on Yelp and write reviews periodically.

This program is suitable for Yelp users who like to explore local businesses and discover the best your city has to offer. Elite Squad members are encouraged to help Yelp users discover and share the best in their cities. Elite Squad members also enjoy access to some special features and benefits that regular Yelp users do not have.

There are various ways in which you can benefit from the Yelp Elite Squad program. Some of these benefits include:

  1. Access to special features such as new food, drinks, music, and other city events that are listed on Yelp’s website.
  2. The ability to search for reviews or ratings for a certain restaurant or other business. This is an excellent way to get a good idea of what a certain business has to offer.
  3. The ability to create your own reviews on Yelp by writing your own review after visiting a certain business and then sharing it with others. This will be great if you want to share your experience with others who may be interested in visiting the same business. You can also use this feature to let others know about your favorite businesses in your city or any other city that you visit frequently.

Why should you delete your Yelp account?

Spamming other people’s accounts by posting fake reviews on the site

People can get a good reputation by using this method. This is the most popular way of getting a reputation on Yelp. People get reputation through posting fake reviews in the name of some of their friends or relatives or in their own name. This way, they can get many fake positive reviews on behalf of others and thereby their rating goes up, which gives them more reputation on Yelp sites. It makes them more famous than they deserve. They become victims of revengeful posts by other users on Yelp.

Abusing power to manipulate ranking system

There are several ways through which people can abuse the power to manipulate the ranking system of Yelp in favor of their personal interest. For example, promoting their own business by paying off a small amount to certain employees so that they can be ranked higher than other businesses.

Manipulating search engine results

People can make the websites of their competitors more visible by manipulating search engine results through buying traffic from third party websites or using different types of software that have been developed in order to manipulate search engine results. All of these software are used for various purposes, such as manipulating search engine results in favor of your business competitors or promoting your own business by putting false positive reviews on the site with the help of such software.

Booking fake reservations at restaurants or hotels with other people’s credit cards

It is a big mistake to book fake reservations with someone else’s credit card or checking account number on Yelp sites. This way, the person could be defrauded of money or any other kind of information that they do not want to share with anyone else, including you. This could damage their reputation as well as your own reputation if you are also found out doing this kind of thing.

Other reasons

You might delete your Yelp account for any other reason that makes sense to you. For example, when there are changes in your life, such as moving or closing down your business, you might want to delete your Yelp account so that it does not affect the rating and business details that are still present on the site when you close down your business. You might also want to delete your Yelp account if there are some other circumstances that make sense to you.

What happens when you delete your Yelp account?

When you delete your Yelp account, you will lose access to your account and all the information that is stored in it. This includes all the reviews and comments that you have written, photos that you have taken, and bookings that you have made. However, for business accounts, it does not remove the business page from Yelp. It will still appear on the business listing.

Should I delete my credit card information before deleting my Yelp account?

It is not necessary to delete your credit card information before deleting your Yelp account. This is because you can still make use of the credit card information even after you delete your Yelp account. You can also use this method to find out if the card information that you have shared with Yelp has been shared with other users.

If you do not want anyone else to use your credit card information, then it is better to delete your Yelp account before deleting your credit card information. This way, it will be harder for others to use your credit card details for any purpose other than booking a reservation at a restaurant or hotel or any other business that you have already used on Yelp.

You can follow these steps to delete your credit card information:

  1. Go to the Account Settings section of your account.
  2. Click Payment Information.
  3. Click the trash can icon to Delete.

How to delete your Yelp account?

Before you delete your account, you have to know that you can not get back your account after you delete it. You can follow these steps to deleting your Yelp account:

If you want to delete your Yelp account as the Yelpers:

  1. Login into your Yelp account.
  2. Go to the Yelp Support Center.
  3. Then, choose Account Closure.
  4. Type a message (or even just one letter) into the text box below the “Closing your user account” heading. You can explain your reason for deleting your Yelp account here.
  5. Click Send.
  6. Wait for the response from Yelp. Usually the response will go directly to your email.
  7. If there is a response, you can click the link.
  8. Click Close Account.
  9. You need to wait for Yelp to delete your account.

If you want to delete your Yelp account, as the Business Owners:

  1. Login into your business account.
  2. Click Edit.
  3. Choose the right option based on your business conditions.
  4. Type your details about your business.
  5. Click Submit Change.

In conclusion, Yelp is a great way to discover local businesses in your city. You can delete your Yelp account if you have a valid reason for doing so. However, it is always a good idea to make use of this guide to help you understand how to delete a Yelp account. This way, you will not have any problems deleting your Yelp account. Besides that, you can also use this guide to find out if the information that you have shared with Yelp has been shared with other users. There are many reasons why you might want to delete your Yelp account. However, there are other reasons why you might want to keep your Yelp account active, and you can always give your comments, reviews, and photos on Yelp.

(Visited 30 times, 1 visits today)

Abby