How To Delete Quick Access History

By Abby •  Updated: 10/28/22 •  3 min read

Quick Access helps speed up your workflow and increase productivity. It eliminates the need to browse to a file or folder hidden deep within a directory in the file system. However, you may want to delete the Quick Access history on a regular basis to keep some privacy or to start over.

24/7 Live Chat
Ask a Technician To Help You Cancel or Delete Live

Chat with a Tech Support Specialist anytime, anywhere

For those of you who use Windows 10 on your PC or laptop are already familiar with the Quick Access feature. This is one of the best features in Windows 10. Quick Access’ principal function is to display commonly viewed files and directories. Essentially, this capability is analogous to the browser’s history feature, which allows users to view the pages we have viewed in the past.

If you have private documents, Quick Access is extremely dangerous since anyone who has access to your computer or laptop can view them. As a result, it is advised that Quick Access be cleaned more frequently.

Quick Access is a really useful feature that arrived with the fresh new Windows 10. Quick Access preserves all commonly used files and folders so that users may readily access them the next time they wish to utilize them. However, some users consider this feature to be an infringement of their privacy and seek solutions to eliminate quick access history. There are numerous methods for removing this rapid access history.

Delete Entire Quick Access History Through Folder Options

24/7 Live Chat
Ask a Technician To Help You Cancel or Delete Live

Chat with a Tech Support Specialist anytime, anywhere

Delete Entire Quick Access History Through File Explorer Options

This is useful if you’re working on multiple projects and need to start with a blank slate of new files and folders. It also protects your privacy by not displaying the objects you frequently access. You might not want certain things to appear when people pass by or peek over your shoulder.

If the process is complete, try looking at the Quick Access menu again. If there is no file name, the Quick Access cleaning operation was successful.

Do you want to know if these deleted files can be recovered? Of course, the answer is no. Because it is similar to the browser’s history feature, some of the files in Quick Access are shortcuts to the desired file. The historical data in Quick Access will be lost if it is erased.

You can also deactivate Quick Access if you don’t want it to run. You will be safer if you disable Quick Access if you keep any secret or personal data.

(Visited 11 times, 1 visits today)

Abby