How To Delete Local Branch Git

By | Last Updated on August 7, 2022

Git is a powerful tool that you can use to work with source code. However, there are times when you might want to delete the local branch git on your computer. The question is, how can you do that?

What is Local Branch Git?

How to delete your IMVU Account?
How to delete your IMVU Account?

Local Branch Git is a local repository that stores your source code on your computer. In other words, it is a repository that has been created on your computer.

This local branch git is automatically synced with the remote branch git on the server. It is also automatically pushed to the remote branch git when you commit changes to your local branch git.

Note: The name of this local repository is “Git Local”, but some people call it “Local Branch Git” or “Local Repository”. It does not matter what you call it as long as you know what it is and how to delete it from your computer.

Steps to Delete Local Branch Git

To delete the local branch git, you need to know the name of the local branch git.

  1. Open a Git BASH window or a Git Command Window in the root of your Git repository. If necessary, use the git switch or checkout command to move off the branch you wish to delete.
  2. If necessary, use the git switch or the checkout command to take a branch out of the repository you wish to delete.
  3. Issue the git branch –delete <branch name> command to delete the local branch.

After completing these steps, you will have a clean repository without any local branch git in it.

What Happens After You Delete the Local Branch?

Once you delete the local branch git, you will not be able to access it in your Git repository. In other words, if you delete the local branch git, your source code will not be saved in the local branch git.

Some of your changes may be still stored in the local branch git on your computer. However, they will be lost when you delete the local branch git.

It is also possible that some of your changes are still stored in the remote branch git on the server. However, they will be lost when you delete the remote branch git on the server.

Deleting a local branch in your Git repository will also delete all changes that have been made to that local branch since you created it.

(Visited 20 times, 1 visits today)

Leave a Comment