How to delete LinkedIn account?

LinkedIn is one of the most popular platforms that provide business and employment-oriented services. It is useful both for an employer to search the right person and for an employee to search the right job. Employer posts their position and skill/qualification requirement whereas employee posts their resume. LinkedIn assists you a lot in advancing your career and provide you numerous opportunities. However, if you think that you have made maximum use of this platform and you don’t require this anymore or if you have multiple LinkedIn account and you want to delete all of them and continuing only one, then you can delete LinkedIn account permanently.

But before you delete LinkedIn account keep in mind that once you delete the account, no one will be able to see you in their search. All the data associated with your account including the username will be deleted permanently and cannot be retrieved. So, before you delete the account, we recommended you to download the copy of all the data associated with your account. To download the data, follow these simple steps:

Download all data in the LinkedIn account

  1. Go to linkedin.com in any browser of your preference.
  2. If you are not already logged in, enter the username and password of the account, whose data you want to download.Linkedin Login page
  3. Once you log in, click on the “Me” option that lies towards the top right corner of the page just to the right of the notification icon.Linkedin profile to open settings
  4. From the drop-down option that appears click on “Settings & Privacy.”Linekedin profile settings and privacy
  5. In the Settings & Privacy page click on the “Privacy” tab.Linkedin privacy settings
  6. Click on “how LinkedIn uses your data” that lies at the left panel.Linkedin data uses option
  7. After that, click on “Download your data” option. You might sometimes need to enter your login ID and password to continue.Linked in download your data
  8. Select the nature of data that you want to download. If you want to download the only article, then select on “Articles” and so on. After that click on “Request Archive.”Choose what you want to download

It will take some time to download the data in your LinkedIn account. The time for download depends on the amount of data that your LinkedIn account contains.

Since you have now downloaded all that you might require in future let’s move on to the procedure to delete the account permanently.

Procedure to delete the LinkedIn account using Web Browser

  1. Go to linkedin.com in any browser of your preference.
  2. If you are not already logged in, enter the username and password of the account.
  3. Once you log in, click on the “Me” option that lies towards the top right corner of the page just to the right of the notification icon.
  4. From the drop-down option that appears click on “Settings & Privacy”.
  5. On the Account tab under click on “Account Management” section that lies towards the left panel of the page.Linkedin account management settings
  6. Now click on “Closing your LinkedIn account” option.Linkedin permanently delete account
  7. You will now be asked to select the reason for closing the LinkedIn account. If the reasons provided matches with your reason for closing the account, click on the same otherwise click on “others”. After that click on “Next”.Linkedin account closing reasons
  8. Enter the password of the account to confirm your choice of deleting the account permanently. Finally, click on “Close Account.”Linkedin permanently delete confirmation

Delete LinkedIn Account using Mobile Application

  1. Open the LinkedIn application on your phone.
  2. Tap on profile picture that lies towards the top left corner of the screen and then on “View Profile”.Linkedin view profile for account settings
  3. On your profile page tap on “Settings” icon (gear icon at the top right corner of the screen).Linkedin mobile settings
  4. Swipe down to the bottom of the settings page and then tap on “Close Account”.Linkedin mobile close account
  5. A list of things that you will miss if you close the LinkedIn account will be displayed. Tap on “Continue”.Linkedin close account
  6. Chose one of the reasons for leaving LinkedIn and tap on “Next”.Linkedin account terminate reason
  7. Finally, enter the password of your account and then tap on “Done”. If you don’t want to be bothered by the emails and other communications from LinkedIn then don’t forget to check the box to unsubscribe yourself from LinkedIn before you tap “Done”.Linkedin account close confirmation

Retrieve LinkedIn Account

After you delete you LinkedIn However, if you wish to reopen your account, you can do that if you proceed to reopen within 20 days. But keep this in mind even if you reopen the account within 20 days you will not be able to regain followings from the account:

  1. Membership in any group
  2. Companies, influences, and personalities that you have followed
  3. Invitations that were pending
  4. Recommendations and endorsement that were present in the account.

Leave a Comment