What are the reasons to delete Instagram account?
- To realize that the world exists beyond the screen.
It is so ironic that we get so indulged in the screen that we know how celebrity spent their weekend, but fail to realize how our family and friends around us are doing.
- To keep your private things to yourself:
In the blind competition, people often forget to keep a boundary on what is to be shared publicly and what is not. And you don’t want to share some of your very personal moments.
- Un-shouted peer pressure:
There exist undeclared competition of being more popular on Instagram in terms of the number of followers and likes.
- You have multiple Instagram account, and now you don’t have enough time to maintain them.
Whatever be the reasons if you want to get rid of Instagram account permanently then follow these steps. But before that keep in mind that once you delete Instagram account all the photos shared and messages you have sent/received will be lost. If you think you might need them in future, then download all the content before you delete Instagram account permanently.
Download all photos before deleting Instagram account
You can delete an Instagram account without losing your photos. All you to do is download them using web-browser as mobile app don’t have this option.
- Visit Instagram.com from any web browser.
- Log in to your Instagram account.
- Click on the profile icon at the top right corner of the page.
- Select the option ‘Edit Profile’ or setting icon right beside it and choose ‘Privacy and Security’.
- Scroll down to the bottom and select Request Download under the heading Data Download.
- Enter the email account where you want the data to be delivered after being downloaded.
- Verify your request with the password of your Instagram account and click on “Request Download”.
This process may take up to 48 hours depending upon the size of the file you have shared. After completion, the data will be sent to the email address of your choice.
Steps to delete Instagram account permanently
The Instagram app doesn’t have this option, so if you want to delete Instagram from iPhone or Android devices, you have to follow this process from mobile browsers like Chrome, Firefox, Opera, etc.
- Go to Instagram account deletion page from a web-browser.
- Sign in with your account if you aren’t already logged in.
- Provide the reason to delete Instagram account.
- Enter your password again to verify your deletion request and hit Permanently delete my account.
This will delete your Instagram account permanently.
How to deactivate Instagram Account?
If closing Instagram account permanently is not what you want, you should try deactivating the Instagram account temporarily. Deactivation, on the one hand, keep your profile alive so you won’t lose your favorite username and on the other hand your photos and videos will stay safe.
- Visit Instagram.com from a web browser and log in.
- Click on the profile icon to the right corner of the page.
- Open the Edit Profile button, which is just to the right of your username.
- Scroll down to the bottom of the Edit profile page and then click on Temporarily disable my account.
- Select the reason to deactivate from the drop-down list.
- Enter the password of the account to proceed further.
- Tap on the Temporarily Disable Account option.
- Confirm your choice and your Instagram account will be disabled temporarily.
All your profile information including the photos and videos you have shared will remain hidden. Nobody will be able to find you on Instagram until you reactivate your account. To reactivate your account all you need to do is to log in the Instagram account again with the same username and password. But it may take few hours (2-10 hours).