How To Delete WordPress Site

By | Last Updated on May 28, 2021

WordPress is an easy way of creating your website (blog, business, professional or online store). However, sometimes we may find our blog or website to be worthless and just want to delete it. If are in the same status, here’s what you should do to delete your WordPress Site.

What happens when you delete a WordPress website

If you are into deleting your WordPress site, it will remove all your content on the website, contributors, domains, themes, and upgrades from the site.

How To Delete WordPress Site

Note: Once you delete your WordPress site, it cannot be recovered. So, be sure about your decision.

  1. Visit wordpress.com and log into your account.
  2. Click on My Site at the top left corner of the page.
  3. A website will be selected by default. You can check your website at the top left corner.
    • If you have multiple sites, then click on Switch Site at the top left corner of the page, and select your target website.
  4. Now, select Manage from the left pane.
  5. A dropdown menu will appear, select Settings. 
  6. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click on Delete your site permanently.
  7. Optional (Recommended): Export all of your content of the site including, your posts, pages, and site settings. It will export it in a zip file, which can be used to import on any new website. Follow the steps to do so:
    • Click on Export Content button
    • Now, click on the Export All button. Depending on your website it may take some time to complete the exporting process.
    •  Once it’s complete, a notification bar will appear at the top of the page, and you have to click on Download.
    • After that, go back to the previous page.
  8. Now, click on the Delete Site button at the bottom of the page.
  9. At last, a confirmation popup will appear, type in your website’s domain. For example howtodelete.org, and hit the Delete this Site button.

Leave a Comment