How to delete a Facebook group?

You created a Facebook group out of nowhere and you want to get rid of that Facebook group. However, you are unaware of how to delete a Facebook group. You are at the right place to know how to delete a Facebook group. Just make sure that you are the admin of the group and follow these steps as mentioned below.

Delete a Facebook group For Desktop (web browser)

  1. Open your browser and head into www.facebook.com
    • For this process, you need to be logged in to your Facebook account. If you are not logged in then enter your email address and password and by clicking on the login button.
  2. Once you are logged in, click on the Groups option which is on the left panel of the page. The ‘Groups’ icon is made up of three dummy people inside a blue sphere shape.
    Facebook group delete
  3. Click on the name of your group from the list of groups.
    delete facebook group permanently
  4. You will be on the homepage of your group. Click on the Members tab which you will find it on the top left corner of the page.
    facebook group delete
  5. Once you have done that, you will be seeing the list of all members on the in the group. The list is under the All members header. Now remove all the members individually in the group except yourself. As you have to remove yourself at the last in order to delete the group.
    • Click on the three dots icon right next to the account name of the member of the group.
    • After that, a drop-down options list will appear where you have to click on the Remove from Group option.
    • Next, a prompt will appear on your screen for the confirmation of removal the member from the group. Click on the Confirm button located at the bottom right corner of the prompt.
      • If you want to take specific actions to the member of the group after removing him/her from the group then you can do it by clicking on the checkboxes and then clicking on the Confirm button
  6. After removing all members in the group, you will be the only one left in the group. As you are the admin of the group you have to permission to delete the group by leaving the group.
    • You have to click on the three dots icon right next to your account name of the group.
    • After that, you will see a drop-down options list where you have to click on the Leave Group option which is at the bottom of the options list.
      fb group delete
    • As you click on the Leave Group option, a prompt will make its appearance on your screen for the confirmation that you want to leave and delete the group. Click on the Leave and Delete button and your group will be deleted.
      facebook group delete confirmation

Delete a Facebook group from Facebook App (Android/iOS)

  1. Open your Facebook app on your smartphone.
  2. Once you open the app, you will be on the newsfeed of Facebook. Click on the three lines icon located at the top right corner of the screen.
    fb mobile group delete
  3. After that, you will be on inside the more options tab where you have to tap on the Groups options. Groups option is represented by the icon consisting of three white dummy people inside a blue sphere.
    facebook group delete mobile
  4. Next, you will see the groups that you’ve created beneath the Your Groups header. And you have to tap on the group that you want to delete.
    • If there are many groups that you have created then tap on See All option which is written in blue letters and is just beside the Your Groups header. And you will see all the groups that you have created and select the group by tapping on its name.
  5. After that, tap on the name of the group located just beneath the cover page of the group. You will be forwarded to the info page of the group.
    Facebook group option for delete
  6. Next, you will have to tap on the See all option and is located just beside the Members header. You will be seeing all your members of the group in the forwarded page inside the Members tab.
    Sell all group members to delete facebook group
  7. Once you are in the Members tab you will see the list of members who are in the group including you. Remove all the members individually in the group except yourself as you have to remove yourself at the last in order to delete the group.
    • You have to click on the three dots icon right next to the account name of the member of the group which is represented as more options.
    • After that, a drop-down options list will appear where you have to tap on the Remove Member option.
  8. After that, confirm that you want to remove the member from the group. Tap on the Remove Member option which will delete the member from the group.
    • You have to repeat this process but don’t remove yourself from the group.
  9. After removing all the members from the group, tap on your account name, which will then popup a page where you will see your profile.
    1. And you have to tap on the More options which are represented by the icon consisting of three dots inside a sphere.
      facebook group delete from mobile app
  10. Once you tap on the More option, a popup options list will appear on your screen where you have to tap on the Leave Group option which is placed at the bottom of the list.
    delete facebook group from mobile
  11. Confirm that you want to leave the group and this will remove you from the group and the group will be deleted by itself.
    • It takes a few seconds to disappear your name from the member’s list. Sometimes you might even have to wait for few minutes for the group to disappear.
      facebook mobile group delete confirmation

Leave a Comment